Cancer Care Specialists of Central Illinois, S.C. - homepage
Research Studies and Clinical Trials
Additional Services
Centers and Clinics
Physicians and Staff
Prevention and Detection
Cancer Facts and Frequently Asked Questions
Our History
CCSCI Charitable Fund
Events Calendar
Contact CCSCI
Related Sites


James L. Wade III, M.D., FACP
Physicians & Providers: Medical Oncology/Hematology

Dr. James L. Wade III, medical oncologist, is the founder of Cancer Care Specialists of Central Illinois, S.C. He primarily sees patients at our main office at the Cancer Care Center of Decatur, but also sees patients at Crossroads Cancer Center in Effingham and Taylorville Memorial Hospital.

Dr. Wade received his M.D. degree from the University of Illinois College of Medicine, Abraham Lincoln School of Medicine, Chicago, Illinois, in 1978. After completing his residency in Internal Medicine in 1981, Dr. Wade served as the Chief Resident in Medicine at the University of Illinois Hospital, Chicago. In 1984, he completed a fellowship in Hematology/Oncology at the University of Chicago.

Dr. Wade established a Medical Oncology and Hematology practice in Decatur in 1984. Since then, he has developed the CCSCI practice in to the largest interdisciplinary oncology/ hematology practice in Illinois outside of Chicago. CCSCI and its seventeen board certified physicians are nationally recognized as an outstanding cancer care practice and honored to receive the Quality Oncology Practice Initiative (QOPI) Certification from the American Society of Clinical Oncology. Dr. Wade is an active leader in cancer research and works as both a committee chair and a board member of several NCI sponsored national and international research organizations. He has served as the Director of Medical Oncology at Decatur Memorial Hospital and he has been the Principal Investigator of the NCI sponsored Central Illinois Community Clinical Oncology Program since 1991. As an Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine he also serves as a teacher and mentor for young physicians at the Feinberg School of Medicine of Northwestern University in Chicago.

Hematology/Medical Oncology Fellowship
University of Chicago Hospital, Chicago, IL, 1984

Internal Medicine Residency
Chief Resident in Medicine, 1982
University of Illinois Hospital, Chicago, IL ,1981

M.D., University of Illinois College of Medicine, Abraham Lincoln School of Medicine, Chicago, IL, 1978
B.S., Biology, University of Illinois, Urbana, IL, 1974

Medical Oncology - American Board of Internal Medicine
Internal Medicine - American Board of Internal Medicine

Faculty Appointment
Associate Professor of Medicine, Northwestern University

American Society of Clinical Oncology (Fellow)
American College of Physicians (Fellow)
Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society
Illinois Medical Oncology Society
Illinois State Medical Societ

Alpha Omega Alpha, 1977
Harry Hynes Award, National Cancer Institute, 2007
Excellence in Teaching, Northwestern University, 2009
National Cancer Institute Platinum Level Recognition for Outstanding Clinical Trial Accrual, 2011 & 2012

La Grange, Illinois

Cancer Care Center of Decatur
210 W. McKinley Ave., Suite 1
Decatur, Illinois 62526
(217) 876-6600

Crossroads Cancer Center
905 Medical Park Drive
Effingham, Illinois 62401
(217) 342-2066

Taylorville Memorial Hospital
201 E. Pleasant
Taylorville, Illinois 62568
(217) 824-3331

Cancer Care Specialists of Illinois - Swansea
13 Wolf Creek Drive, Suite 1
Swansea, IL 62226
(618) 416-7970


< Previous Page - Copyright Cancer Care Specialists of Central illinois, S.C. - CCSCI Cancer Care Specialists of Central Illinois, S.C. - homepage Site Map Privacy Policy Like us on Facebook!